Sunday, May 28, 2006

no more a night owl

Gone are the days of me staying up until two, three, or six in the morning. No more shall I be a night owl of sorts, staying awake unable to sleep and such. This was due mostly to the fact that I've never had a job that requires me to get up before noon, and in most cases I've had to get up at one or two in the afternoon, which was nice.

But now, I've been moved to mornings up at EV. This is very rarely done there, it's very rare to let someone on their probationary period switch to mornings, but I get to do it up because my numbers are so consistently good. I'm far ahead of everyone hired around the same time as me, which I'm proud of. Six weeks into my probationary period of up to ten weeks, and I'm this far ahead! Yaaaa!

I was proud of myself is all. Not that the job is rocket science, but it does take a degree of intelligence, and I've adapted to it quite admirably. So now I'm going to mornings, four days a week. Ten hour days, 700-530, so I'm still at forty hours per week, and still classified as part time. So for the next while, I'll be working Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday 7-530 every day. This is great because it frees my evenings up, to play baseball games and do whatever else I Deicide.

It's good and all, but tomorrow (Sunday) will probably kill me. It's two in the morning, my usual bed time these days, and I have to get up in four hours or less. Then it's ten hours of straight work, at my usual frantic pace. I won't know anyone in the mornings though, and the regular afternoon guys I've trained with don't start showing up until around noon or 130. I won't know anyone, it'll be like my first day again.

I can't wait. I just hope I survive, somehow. Oh, and Bran is back now, so I'll have to find time tomorrow or Monday to make fun of him.


Current Music: Nine Inch Nails - "That's What I Get"
Currently Picking At: 96%

Thursday, May 25, 2006

good times with weapons

No, more like "pussies need weapons to help them win a fight."

I have recently become somewhat aggravated at stories of people these days pulling out a weapon to assist them in their intimidation and hoped-for victory in a fight situation. It's like... wow, you're that much of a pussy, that you have to hide behind a knife, or a gun, or a bat, or whatever else you pulled out of your ass. You're worried that you can't back up the shit you've been talking, and you need some extra insurance.

You're a fucking fairy for that. I would say that you're a scared little girl. That phrase, "scared little girl," is usually meant to imply that a naturally physically weaker girl is in trouble, and fears for her safety against some guy that's bigger than her, and needs something like mace to protect herself. I can understand that, because she's "scared," and "little" when compared to the jackass that's up in her face.

That's how I see a guy that needs to use a weapon to help him win a fight. He is confident enough to talk a bunch of shit and provoke someone, only because he knows he can floor them in one punch with the assistance of brass knuckles. It's pathetic, to have to use something else in a fight. Be a fucking man, don't use anything other than your own body. And if you can't win after that, then don't bother getting into fights in the first place.

Now this applies to recent times, because the times have changed. Back in the 60s, 70s, and even the 80s, I would say it was okay to carry something extra. That's because there wasn't as much police presence, and fights were won based on how many people from each side or gang went to the hospital. Least number of casualties wins, and all that jazz. But things are different these days, there's no excuse or justification for it.

I would say that the only time weapons should be allowed is in self defence, only if someone comes after you first. This is the law... you can use as much force as you deem necessary to defend yourself. Someone comes at you with a knife, pistol whip him. Someone chases you with a shotgun, toss Molotov cocktails at them. Someone tries to car-bomb your ass, fire-bomb their house into submission. It's simple.

Fuck pussies that need to cheat in order to win a fight. They are worthy of neither respect nor remorse, and should all be tossed in jail for a good long time. I mention this subject because on my brief walk to the gas station down the street, I was confronted by two little white kids, one of which popped out a little knife and said for me to give him my money. All I had was my debit on me, no cash, and I explained this to him. After some convincing, I was able to get them to leave me be. But I suspect that they needed a knife, because they knew they'd have no chance otherwise. Pussies.

So that's that. Me being all opinionated and such. Tsk tsk. I guess the lesson here is that it was cool once upon a time to use weapons in fights, but these days it's comparable to the girls' way out. Be a man, not a fucking coward hiding behind your weapon of choice. And if you win, it'll actually be well-earned. Chances are you won't win, if you're hiding like a scared little bitch behind your precious blade.


Current Music: HIM - "In Joy And Sorrow"
Currently Picking At: 90%

Monday, May 22, 2006

the condensed weblog

The following is a standard weblog entry for Ryan Schaap, copy and pasted with a few details added as humorous observation. It's not to be taken seriously, of course, as so many things aren't on here.


Title: Ryan's Adventure of Awesomeness Remixed (Now With 94% More Tang Than The Average Leading Trailer Park Boys Special) and Remastered

I woke up this morning after having some rockin' dreams. Real;ized I had a good five hours before my hella crazee job, so I went and brought Amanada to work. She got me Subway as payment, and after that I decided to go to Subway for dessert. Rocked it old school, here's me with a six inch in my mouth:

[picture removed due to obscene content]

After that I met up with one Katie K / Katie P / Future Shop Employee, and we rocked it old school. Just hilarious times all around, our wacky shenanigans. Went and had Subway again, then went home to watch my super extended season two of Trailer Park Boys. Bubbles and Leahy have unscripted sex, so it's pretty much the rockinest thing I ever seen.

Speaking of food, Subway has decided to construct an entire restaurant in the trunk of my bitchin' Lumina, so I won't have to go far to get mah fix, yo. Even though I'll be pretty much the only customer, its expected to be the biggest success story of the last few decades.

Went to work, rocked the back room and a few customers asses with a simple guitar riff. One co worker thought I was having a seizure, but it was just me having a good ol' fashioned rock n roll freak out session. Five hours later I was sent home early, with a bad headache and something sticky in my hair. Subway calmed my nerves, naturally.

Went and got some Heineken, I can't handle too much so I only got two cans. Poured it into my rockin' White Stripes Foam Beer Hat here:

[image removed due to copyright infringement]

After getting tanked, I passed out in my blanket made entirely out of empty Subway wrappers. Found some dried up cheese and an olive on it, so I ate that before crashing out. Rocked some more old school dreams, tomorrow I get to drive someone someplace.

It should be the rockinest time in the history of people. All Hail teh White Stripes and Teh Pwnage!

-Ryan



{Coming soon: The condensed weblog of Bryce...)

Current Music: Rammstein - "Stirb Nicht Von Mir
CUrrently Picking At: 95% (!)

Thursday, May 18, 2006

army of darkness cat!

Before I make a crappy half-drunk explanation of the title, I figure I'm going to be posting a lot more frequently on here, probably every day or two. As always, it'll be when I have something to actually say, and not just a summary of my day. Hmm, in fact I just came up with entries for the next few days. But yes, it'll probably be aboot the best thing to happen to the world since I was born.

I made a happy, furry new friend today. Yes, I cheated on Bran's cat Carman to be with my Army of Darkness Cat, a skinny little black one that I discovered while walking down a street tonight. He was a bit scared at first, but then after a minute or two he warmed up to me, rubbing against my leg and letting me pet him. He had a collar, so he wasn't a stray, but it was mostly a paki neighborhood, so I don't know where he came from. But he was pretty rad, just the same.

He's the cat that shall go forward and do my bidding late at night. See, he followed me a fair ways, and even ran on ahead to protect me. Then he'd come back and I'd pet him, and he'd sort of playfully tackle my hand, biting but not hard enough to hurt, and using his paws with claws not out. It was great, and now I can send him into the night to hunt down those that I deem worthy of punishment, kitttty-style.

Turning my attention elsewhere, the thermostat was broken at my place recently, and I was trying to get the heat turned down, and ended up with it going up past thirty degrees. I think that's close to a hundred, in Yankee cities. And it sucked 'cause it wouldn't turn down, so it's been like a goddamn sauna in here as of late. The tragedy is that my butter melted almost completely, making a horrid, runny mess of death. I got the building repair guy up to fix it, and he just turned it all off for the summer for me, so that was good.

But it's still balls-hott in here. I can't live like this! I slept with no blankets on the last few days, which is quite a nice feeling, and I had my little tiny fan plugged in and whirring away all night. It didn't help, but I have survived so far. I'll know by tomorrow morning if it is, in fact, turned off or not. If not, then I guess I'll just have to get like... hmm. This is a mystery for people to solve for me, post solutions in the comments! I have spoken!

Current Music: Mudvayne - "Silenced"
Currently picking at: 79%

Wednesday, May 17, 2006

It's Jim Bean!

Shit is busy as hell, lack of updates, apologies and all. I can't help but continue to go on aboot my new job, and how much I'm enjoying it, and how I'm doing so good. Last week I finished Thursday at 66%, a far cry from the 78% or so I had been at before my light duty stint. Yesterday and today, I've suddenly jumped to 86% or better, but it doesn't feel like I'm doing anything really different. You can't buy talent like that.

Today the power went out in the area, for something like four hours, so the whole time all the employees and me sat in the lunch room, still getting paid just for being there. We even got fourteen pizzas ordered for ourselves, courtesy of the company, to keep us pacified and reluctant to start rioting. Lack of security systems and all, while the power was out. So that was pretty rad.

This past weekend was insane, some fun stuff overall. Friday night I did up my pre-game warm up for baseball, with the single bottle of Hard Lemonade right before play time. And although I somehow struck out my first time up to bat, I did get a triple and a double later. We won 12-8, so our season is something like four wins and two losses so far. I'd say that I pretty much dominated all asses.

Got into some goofy adventures Saturday night too, nothing too obscene but still fun. Details aren't that important, but just know that it was good, very good. Word has it that some kid named Bran, or Brendan Greek to the masses, will be coming back in another couple of weeks. Should be interesting, I'm sure he misses humping my legs all the time. And so do I... poor little kritter that he is. Regardless, Saturday was enjoyed, and a quick glance at Manj's weblog will reveal some drunken posts that Manj made and seems to not remember. He likes our workplace, too.

Jim Bean is a fictional character, and also one of my recent pallet jack names. He's a bean, and we suspect he may have been the one to chew through the power cords at the warehouse today, that put power out for most of downtown Abby. Crafty bastard that he is.

Friday, May 12, 2006

and we're back

Slight absence to change things around a little. Old posts are gone, to make space on here for newer and happier things.

The happy things of course involve my job, and how much I still like it. Although this past week has been a bit boring, I still rather enjoy it, which I'm glad to be able to see after four weeks. Things were boring this past week because on Monday a few hours into my shift I slipped and injured myself a bit, hitting my elbow onto the side of my pallet jack. I thought it might put me out of work for a few days, but this new place is unbelievably accomodating.

They put me on something called 'light duty.' That means that I wouldn't be picking boxes for a few days, rather I would be cleaning, and taking inventory... light tasks like that, that didn't involve the use of my arm as much. Still the same pay and the same hours, but the fact that I was given the opportunity to keep working, with no loss of hours, is really something special. After three days, I went back to picking lightly yesterday, and got back into it. They told me to go slow, and that my percentage wouldn't be as important as rehabilitating my muscles. So I got to take my time, and as a result I was able to think more aboot the placement of certain boxes.

It's nice, that this new place is so good to me. I'm not used to this sort of nice treatment. The three days of light duty won't count towards my probationary period, though, so that means they'll add three days of picking to the end of my eight weeks, to make up for it. At the end of last night I was only around 66%, a far cry from the 78% I had been at last Sunday. I was still able to piss off the co worker that aggravates me though, since he was picking at a lower rate than me, even though I was still injured. Something vaguely satisfying aboot that.

Now it's the weekend. I'm supposed to be helping matt move some of his stuff to his new place, him and Haylee got a place still in town, so that's good. I look forward to seeing it, and hopefully to being invited over for dinner more often!

Then later this weekend I'm gonna be hanging out with the crew, of course, for some good times. Oh, baseball tonight too, late game so I can look forward to that. It'll be all good.